Leaning In

Today is the summer solstice…the longest day of the year in the Northern Hemisphere. At 5:04 this morning, the tilt of our planet’s semi-axis was most inclined toward the star that it orbits…our sun. It’s as if we “leaned into the sun.”
“Leaning in” has a special meaning for me. I call it “resting into the support that is here for me.” It is as if we are resting into the support of our sun, the force that sustains us, on a planetary level. On a personal level, I remind myself (several times a day) to rest into the support that is always here for me… the unseen power that holds me, loving me unconditionally.
When I think this phrase, I feel myself relax. It reminds me that I am never alone, no matter where I am or what I am doing. When I am struggling with an issue or complexity of life and I cannot solve it, remembering to “rest back into the support that is here for me” allows me to let go and surrender to the issue. I stop resisting “what is” and allow my story to unfold in its own time and in its own way.
I am learning to give up control which has been a difficult and scary process, but the payoff is peace of mind and the ability to meet the moment with confidence. I trust that the infinite wisdom that exists within all living things, also exists within me, and on that I can always rely.

summer solstice

 

Leave a comment