Ode to Water

waterfallDear Water
I take you for granted
Turn on a faucet and out you flow
Hot or cold to my choosing

Pristine Water
Bringing life-giving minerals
From deep in your Earth
To nourish my body and mind

Refreshing Water
Showering over my dry skin
Rinsing off the dust and sweat
Cooling me down from the heat of the day

Comforting Water
I slide into your deep moist heat
My bones sigh with relief
Muscles relax as you rock me to sleep

Playful Water
Fountains high into the sunlight
Creating rainbows of delight
Children delighting in your liquid magic

I am one of the fortunate few
My water is abundant and pure
This gift from our Earth
Essential to all living things

Sweet Waters of our Earth
Oceans, rivers, lakes and streams
What have we done to You
In our foolish pursuit of More

We have sullied your Precious Fluid
Dark and dank have we made your wells
Islands of poison float in your oceans
Your rivers flow with fire.

Must we perish in the drought of our own awakening
May we arouse our slumbering guardian
To rescue us from our path of self-destruction
I pray we learn to honor your gifts before it’s too late

Leave a Reply

