Mindful Moment

woman under treeMind is playing leapfrog
One puddle to the next
I wish it would just land
And give my brain a rest.

I wake from dreaming slumber
My body calm and steady
Mind waits at the start-line asking,
“When will you be ready?”

“Gimme a break,” I mumble.
I’m not yet even dressed.
“Why don’t you just keep it down,
Don’t like being pressed.”

I know that life is waiting
There’s someone at each door
The phone will soon be ringing
The laundry’s on the floor.

Just for now I’ll find a place
From all I will be free.
In silence I will go within
Even Mind won’t find me.

The world won’t go away, I know
I’ll be back in a short while
When I return, I’ll move with grace
My eyes soft with a smile.

One thought on “Mindful Moment

Leave a Reply

