Righteous Moocher

I’m not sure why these words are my prompt this morning…I’m never sure where these thoughts that crawl in from the dark morning recesses of my brain are born.
I heard these two words used together in this paradoxical way by a dear friend who was traveling and came to visit. She told me she had been called a Righteous Moocher by a couple she had recently stayed with.
As you are learning about me, I am a fan of things oxymoronic. Something in me feels satisfaction when confronted with a pair-a-docs. So when Heidi told the story of being called a Righteous Moocher, that enigmatic phrase snuck into a corner of my brain. As I sat in the dark and waited for something to materialize on my empty screen this morning, it emerged.
Righteous. This word has a bit of a religious feel to it…virtuous, moral, honest, decent and upstanding. These are words we give to someone we respect and hold in high esteem.
Moocher. I haven’t heard that word since childhood. It meant freeloader… someone who is a user and a sponger…who takes without giving back.
Oxymoron’s abound in our language…I am not the only one who delights in these contradictions. What do these phrases do for you?
 Childproof, passive aggressive, taped live, clearly misunderstood, temporary insanity, plastic glasses, definite maybe, working vacation, exact estimate, and a personal favorite of mine…Microsoft Works.
I write in part to refine my ability to communicate. I look for the simple and easy way to express my thoughts. I am not only refining my communication with others but also with myself…always seeking clarity…asking myself, “How can I say that thought or do that thing more simply and clearly?”
The fact that I enjoy the self-contradictory nature of an oxymoron while seeking clarity in my thoughts, speech and writing…is itself a paradox…it may seem absurd but in reality expresses a possible truth.
What that possible truth is will only be understood when my perceptive lens gets wide enough to see the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.
WTF?

One thought on “Righteous Moocher

  1. Pingback: Clarity of Purpose | Source Reflections

Leave a Reply

