Praying the Medicine Wheel

Medicine wheel of the Lakota Native American p...

Medicine wheel of the Lakota Native American people (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“I, Chery, surrender judgment and control and embrace with compassion and gratitude each moment of my life as it unfolds.  I welcome myself with open arms and vow to see in myself the loving, beautiful human I see in others.”

I will be leaving Sedona tomorrow and driving back to my home, Mountain Valley Retreat, in southern California.  I have just spent a week assisting Suzanne Scurlock-Durana with my dear friends and colleagues who gather from as far away as Scotland.

We return annually to begin our new year with this retreat called Release and Renewal.  This was my eighth year to pray the medicine wheel with Suzanne.  It has been a deeply profound experience since the first year which helped me find my voice, step into my power and out of an unfulfilling marriage. This week has been an equally painful, exquisite exploration into the depths of who I am.

The medicine wheel we walk in Suzanne’s teaching comes from a number of Native American traditions.  She has drawn from her teachers to create an effective prototype.  I am not attempting to teach the wheel in this writing.  Rather, I am sharing with you what I heard in each lodge and the final prayer that I wrote after our week of work.

MY WALK:

Children’s Fire

As I sit in the Children’s Fire I listen to my authentic voice within.  I hear that my ability to drop inside and sit in stillness and allow the truth to emerge is growing.  Thank you, Spirit, for your support as I carve out more time each day to sit in stillness and simply allow.  (The early morning hour, just before sunrise, is my best time for this visit into stillness.)

Men’s Lodge

As the sun rises I begin my walk around the Wheel pausing in each Lodge to find the wisdom that awaits me there if I am ready, willing and able to hear it.

In the Men’s Lodge I name the question or issue at hand. Great Spirit, May I continue to rest back into your support, trusting that life is unfolding in a vision of sacred perfection.  In each moment may I meet my experience with an open and compassionate heart. Grant me the wisdom to allow what is before me to simply be what it is.

Peace Chiefs Lodge

I accept my humanness in all its forms, the light and the shadow, and ask for continued clarity to see with discernment.  By your grace, may I let go of all beliefs that don’t serve me and my need to share my opinions with others.

War Chiefs Lodge

Thank you for the courage to stand strong in my resolve to stop judging and controlling myself and others.

Singers and Mediums Lodge

Thank you for helping me to recognize the origins and patterns of my judgmental and controlling nature.  Help me to release these patterns that no longer serve me and step into acceptance and love for what is.  I don’t need to know all. Show me my next step.

Women’s Lodge

I sit in patient, grounded silence while the mind-mud settles and my vision becomes clear.

Council Lodge

All parts of me say a wholehearted yes to surrendering control and judgment and my need to be right.  I am safe in the loving arms of Spirit.

Hunters and Gatherers Wisdom Lodge

Thank you for supporting my intention to begin each day with renewal to connection with Spirit.  I vow to listen continuously to the wisdom of my all-knowing.  Thank you for supporting my vigilance to staying fully present in each moment and meeting my experience with a grateful, compassionate heart.

Dog Soldiers Lodge

Thank you for the wisdom and compassion to recognize and hold my vulnerabilities including them in all my decisions.

MY PRAYER

Great Spirit,

Thank you for your constant, loving support.

I continue to rest back and trust that life is unfolding in a vision of sacred perfection.

Help me to meet my experience with an open and compassionate heart and give me the wisdom to appreciate what is.

By your grace, may I release all beliefs that don’t serve me and let go of my need to share my opinions with others.

Thank you for the courage to stand strong in my resolve to stop judging and controlling myself and others.

Thank you for helping me to recognize the origins and patterns of my judgmental and controlling nature.  Help me to release these patterns and embrace what is.

I sit in patient, grounded silence while the mind-mud settles and my vision becomes clear.

I give a wholehearted yes to surrendering control, judgment and my need to be right.  I am safe.

Thank you for confirming my connection with Spirit and supporting my commitment to listen to my All-knowing.  I vow to be vigilant to presence and meet my experience with a grateful, compassionate heart.

Thank you for the wisdom and compassion to recognize and hold my vulnerabilities…including them in all my decisions.

Thank you, Great Spirit, for loving and supporting me every step of the way.

 

2 thoughts on “Praying the Medicine Wheel

Leave a Reply

