Going with the Flow

I have a favorite song lyric.  It asks, “If I stop steering my boat does it sink, oh no, current carries it along just so.  If I stop steering my life, gonna be alright, I’ll just go where the ocean says to go.”

The question of choice has been a favorite topic of my inner dialogue for years.  I ask myself, “What happens when I stopped choosing?”  The obvious answer seemed to be that I would stop…that unless I am making a conscious choice to do something, I will do nothing.  I would not accomplish anything, I wouldn’t go anywhere, and I would not even get up in the morning.

But then it occurred to me that there are many things I do unconsciously.  Like breathing…and swallowing, and blinking.  So the question arises, “If my body chooses to do things that keep it alive without me making conscious choices, where does it draw the line?”

With those autonomic movements, I can make them choices or not.  I can choose to breath, swallow or blink or I can let go of the choice and my body takes over and does it for me.

So I beg the question, “If I stop choosing, won’t my body continue to move forward in the direction of life driven by the same unseen force that breathes me?”

I have been playing with this for quite a while and it seems to me that when I am able to move into quiet mind, let go of my fears and rest back in trust a magical experience emerges.  Indeed I continue to move.  I look from the outside as if I am making choices, but it is my secret that I am not.  I am allowing myself to ride the current of life wherever it takes me.  The analytical mind turns off and the creative body listens.  The internal “Franklin List” disappears and instead of making weighed decisions I follow the gentle urges that I feel coming from my gut and my heart.  Trust is absolute.  If I question anything, the experience ends and I am back in analytical mind judging and making choices.

When I stay grounded and centered, trust absolutely, allow my lens of perception to stay wide open and embrace what is without question, life flows effortlessly.  My friend, Ricardo, says that “the film is in the can.”  I must admit that in these moments it feels that is true.  It feels as if my life is unfolding and I am merely the witness.  As Daniel Nahmod sings so beautifully, “If I stop steering my boat does it sink, oh no, current carries it along just so.  If I stop steering my life, gonna be alright, I’ll just go where the ocean says to go.”

One thought on “Going with the Flow

Leave a Reply

