First Morning Light

First morning light
Pale lemon yellow sets off the rocky skyline
Hinting of the ball of fire that soon will bring heat and light to my part of the world

The sound of the shower is background
To the gentle guitar music in my ears
Water falling without resistance showing me how to let go and allow

The morning air is cool on my bare arms
It enters my nostrils and with sensation moves through my throat
I pause to notice the expansion and contraction in my chest

My feet burrow into the thick brown carpet seeking warmth
Not unlike the small critters outside holed up under the earth
I am connected somehow to all that I see and sense.

The fire, the water, the air, the earth…
All elements of the universe
All elements of me
Interconnectedness is the gift of the first morning light.

One thought on “First Morning Light

Leave a Reply

